Mark White Lures

• Greetings board members. My name is Mark White and I'm a maker of lures for deep sea, near shore and fresh water. I live in Hawaii on the island of Kauai where my wife and I have been operating a pottery studio for almost 30 years. About 20 years ago my 4 year old son wanted to start fishing so we got bamboo poles and headed to our local streams and reservoirs with earth worms for bait. We had a lot of fun until we started hooking up Tucanares (peacock bass) using baby Tilapias for bait. On one occasion my son was nearly pulled in. Fortunately for him I didn't know much about knots. I discovered you really need a spinning reel to fight those kinds of fish. Our passion for fishing grew and we started reading everything we could about fishing. As I developed my skills, we started salt water fishing for Papio (Trevally under 10 pounds) and other near shore species. I became very interested in top water plugs and started making some out of my porcelain clay body for fun. I quickly realized some of the benefits of using a ceramic material over plastic or wood. Mainly the increased casting distance gave me more territory to expose the lure to. I was having a great time whipping from the cliffs and reefs along the south shore of Kauai. I had to upgrade my equipment to deal with the 15-40+lb. Ulua (Trevally over 10 pounds), Kahala (Amberjack), and Kawakawa (Skipjack Tuna) I was hooking up. The old timers started asking me if they could buy the ceramic lures because of my success. I couldn't sell the early prototypes to my friends, so I put them to work as test team members. It was great for me to see these guys hooking up on my lures. After 10 years of R&D I finally decided to start selling lures. I also started working with friend and neighbor Abram Boido, a commercial fisherman for 30 years, now residing in Kona. Abram was my advisor for the trolling line. He has landed tons of fish on my lures, literally!

• Welcome aboard, Mark.